Alcohol alternatives when pregnant!

9114

When I was pregnant I found it hard to find a nice drink to have as an alternative to my usual wine or cocktail. Throughout the nine months I had a lot of social events like family parties and hen weekends and I must have tried all the alcohol free drinks and didn’t really enjoy any of them.

I usually drink Prosecco or Long Island Ice Teas. So first I tried a number of different non alcohol wines and cocktails – all of which were far to sweet and fruity for me. None of the wines tasted anything like wine 😦

Next I tried alcohol free ciders, again way too fruity (even more than normal cider), then on my friends hen party I decided to bring along some Shloer and alcohol free Becks. Becks was by far the best and did surprisingly taste slightly like lager.

So on all of those social events I was very disappointed that I’d even wasted money on these drinks and not just stuck to diet cola – at least I would have known what I was getting.

However, the other day my husband brought home Belvoir Elderflower drink for my in laws that were coming for dinner. I really enjoyed a glass of this with our food and then after thought – this would have been great as a nice refreshing alternative to alcohol when I was pregnant.

If you are pregnant and love fruity drinks you will be fine, if not then I’d say try Elderflower or just stick to the pop, juice and plenty of water!

Shloer prize

Leave a Reply

